top of page

Inspiring Students

I was invited to the Isle of Man College, by Carola Rush, to speak about my experience and present some of my past work to students who are currently studying GCSE photography and needed some inspiration.

I showed them a variety of my work, from A level photography sketchbooks and final pieces to university work and my recently created portfolio book. The experience of university was such a valuable one for me that I thought it wou ld also be good to encourage them to consider it as a future option. University isn’t always suited to everyone, but it is definitely a life changing experience to some. Hopefully showing my work to the students will have helped with seeing what standard of work they could be aiming for and to give them some creative ideas.

Some of my final A level work containing a mixture of film, digital and edited photos:

My favourite image to explain is the bottom middle image on the first sheet that was taken using a film camera. I positioned a wine glass, filled with water to distort the background, on a laptop with a simple striped image that I created in the background. When I took this photo I had no idea if it would work or not but I was extremely happy and surprised with the outcome.

bottom of page